top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaddie Rondel

A busy week!

15-19/05/2023


The week began with some research on future careers and the areas I’m most interested in working in. My main interests lie within graphic design, and I discovered some new roles such as UX/UI that I hadn’t previously heard of. I also researched roles such as Art director, Creative Director, Graphic Designer and Social Media Manager. At this point in time, I feel that my strongest skills and interests lie closest to the Brand Design and Illustration role, as it incorporates both graphic design and illustration with the heavy focus being on the branding aspect.




I also set-up my Project Proposal document using my colour palette and selected fonts, this made me a lot more motivated to complete my work as I want to see it all come together. I am really excited about my personal branding as I love the visual aesthetic of it, especially as it’s the first time I’ve attempted to make personal branding for my own work/portfolio, rather than for a project or brief.





We had our weekly teams meeting where we discussed changing up the Instagram posts for some variety. We talked about potentially spotlighting some small businesses/creators as Ed had done during their internship last year at Penn Gallery.



I also worked on some illustrations for my personal branding today to use throughout my Project Proposal and website. I used colours only in my branding palette and created some fashion illustrations inspired by some images I had found on Pinterest. I am very happy with these illustrations, as they are a different art-style to what I have done with Salvage Collective, and other projects in the past, and are quite detailed illustrations compared to my previous work. I feel that through the internship my illustration skills particularly have improved which has allowed me to create my own art using a different style more comfortably.



On Wednesday, I created an informational-style Instagram post titled “Why you should upcycle” explaining a few short reasons why upcycling is beneficial to both the you and the planet! I decided to illustrate this post in a slightly different format, where instead of having a plain yellow/green background I opted for blue denim fabric Cut-outs with things like buttons, thread and scissors around the border.


Although this is the same art-style as the rest of the posts, this new format breaks up the “visual-fatigue” of the constant green and yellow posts, while still sticking to the branding. I sent it to Ed for feedback and they said they really liked this new format, with me not having to make any changes in the end! I created a couple of versions, one with a white background in the centre behind the writing, perhaps making it easier to read but busier overall, and a version without.



Thursday was photoshoot day! Today we had planned to do a photoshoot using some of the second-hand clothes Salvage Collective uses for their workshops, to show people the type of clothes Salvage Collective rescues from landfill. The photos we took were to be used as marketing content for the brand, specifically posted on the Instagram! Read more in my Salvage Collective Photoshoot blog post!





My main focus on Friday was to go through all of the images I’d taken, select the best ones and edit them. I only edited the photos very lightly, just wanting to enhance the natural lighting and saturation to make the images look bright, summery and eye-catching. Through this shoot and editing process, it made me discover that I had a live-shoot feature on my camera, allowing me to see what the settings would make the image look like ultimately leading me to have correctly exposed images, which in-turn reduced the amount of retouching I had to make to the images during the editing process. The images will be eventually posted to the Salvage Collective Instagram account.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

댓글


bottom of page