top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaddie Rondel

Starting an internship!

Updated: Jun 3, 2023

21-28/04/2023


This week I began my internship with Salvage Collective, a non-profit organisation “offering an ethical, circular alternative to buying fast”. Salvage Collective, created by Ed Earl (a 3rd year Fashion Branding and Comms student at AUB), started out as their Final Major Project which is now carrying on as a personal venture outside of university due to its growth of popularity and success!



I had a meeting with Ed where we discussed what I would be doing this term for Salvage Collective as well as to build out my portfolio. We decided that I would be making some social media content such as graphics/illustrations, fun fact posts and some more informational posts regarding upcycling clothes and the brand. We also discussed me doing some photography during the upcoming thrift fair and workshops that Salvage Collective holds, also to post on social media. Another thing we talked about was designing some window art for the DiVenti Boutique which has provided Salvage Collective with a space to hold workshops.



After this I helped Ed to prepare some of the second-hand clothes for the thrift fair the next day by steaming them and helping to decide prices.

My first meeting with Ed was a positive experience and I look forward to working for and with them more in the future. Although it is technically a “boss” and “intern” relationship, it is very causal and informal which makes me more comfortable to suggest ideas and to work creatively to the best of my ability.






On Tuesday, Salvage Collective had organised a thrift fair where students could rent a table to sell their clothes! (Read more about this in my Thrift Fair blog post!) I began the day by helping to set up the Fashion Branding and Comms tables with some donated clothes. Throughout the fair I assisted in selling some of these clothes, but most importantly photographing the event with my camera. I made my way around the fair photographing people browsing and buying from the stalls, I later edited these photos and they were posted to the Salvage Collective Instagram. I also filmed some content and posted it as an Instagram story on the Salvage Collective account; it was a video guiding people to the location of the fair. The thrift fair was a success and the money collected by Salvage Collective and the Fashion Branding stalls is to be put towards the graduate fashion show!
















Over the weekend I spent time creating a couple of Instagram posts for the Salvage Collective account. These consisted of digital illustrations and some informational text. I created these using a combination of procreate and InDesign. The two posts I was working on specifically were a Fashion Revolution Week post with information about the Rana Plaza tragedy and what happens during this week. The other was a “not so fun fact” about how much water it takes to make a single cotton t-shirt (2,720 btw!) and how to reduce the water waste in your wardrobe. To create these posts I made sure to keep to Salvage Collective’s branding by using their colours and font as well as trying to draw in a similar style but also incorporating my own, as this is something Ed said they were open to.

I believe this is helping me to develop my graphic design skills as it’s the first time I have had to create something in someone else’s style. I recreated versions of these posts a few times after hearing Ed’s feedback and am very happy with the final outcomes!





4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

تعليقات


bottom of page