top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaddie Rondel

Did you know...

Updated: Jun 3, 2023

02-05/05/2023





At the beginning of the week, we had our weekly Salvage Collective teams meeting where we discuss our plan for the week, any upcoming workshops and communicate any ideas or queries to Ed. The weekly meeting always has an online Microsoft Teams link so we can participate whether we’re at home or in uni. These meetings are very informal and allow us to easily check-in as well as give each other feedback and discuss ideas. I also designed and created the first installation of “Not So Fun Fact” which will be a weekly series uploaded to the Salvage Collective Instagram every Wednesday.


This series of posts will highlight short facts and important but perhaps unknown information about the sustainability of the fashion industry (or lack thereof), how our fashion choices can have a negative impact on the environment and how we can change this personally to create a positive impact. The main point of the post I created today focused on how much cotton it takes to create a single 100% cotton t-shirt and how much water this process takes (2,720 to be precise). This water along with the amount of water we waste washing our clothes when perhaps it’s not necessary is obviously not good for the environment, especially when there are still countries struggling to obtain clean, potable water. The post also highlights how we can reduce our water waste, such as buying recycled cotton items instead, washing our clothes less and on lower temperatures.



On Wednesday the “Not So Fun Fact” post was uploaded, and so far has received around 80 likes and a few shares! I also suggested to Ed that I can draw the illustrations in my posts in a more 3D style to differentiate it a bit from their previous style and they said they really liked it! Me and Elan (Ed’s other intern) went into the studio today to help Ed prepare for an embroidery workshop in their hometown the next day.



We cut up some of the fabric from some rags and stretched them into embroidery hoops, as well as folding up some garments and packing them up ready to take to the workshop. As it was in Ed’s hometown, we couldn’t attend but there are plans for us to attend the next one in Poole, in the Di Venti Boutique where I’ll be taking some photos of the workshop for the Salvage Collective Instagram account. Ed also gave me the stitching instruction leaflets and suggested I re-design them to fit the current



I spent around 7 hours designing and illustrating the embroidery tutorial post which is due to be uploaded tomorrow! It’s been a long but enjoyable process. This post took a lot longer to create as it has multiple slides, rather than one single page. Each slide contained a step of the tutorial, as well as a cover page acting as the first slide. The idea is to create another series of posts to be uploaded on Fridays, all being easy ways to upcycle garments rather than getting rid of them.


The embroidery tutorial explained how to sew over a hole to make it stable, as well as examples of embroidery patterns to sew over the covered hole to make it look nicer and more personalised. Alongside the steps, I had created graphic illustrations to aid as a visual instruction, all consistent with Salvage Collective’s branding. I believe that through my constant designing and illustrating processes each week that my illustration skills are improving, which is an area that I wanted/want to focus on more in the future.





My embroidery tutorial post was uploaded today with only minimal changes needing to be made from my final designs yesterday which I’m very happy about. I feel like I’m getting more used to the Salvage Collective branding but also the layouts of my posts and use of colour, especially in the titles which have had varied boxes, shadows and designs over the past couple of weeks. I think this variation in the titles keeps the content fresh and not too repetitive. Today I also focused a bit more on my personal website and branding for this terms hand-in.




I experimented in Adobe Illustrator with creating a logo for myself, which after playing around with different effects and following tutorials I came to this as my final decision. I will probably end up tweaking it slightly in the future, but I really like the style of it for now to represent me as a brand. I have also decided a colour palette for my website and branding and also want to create some illustrations to use throughout my branding too.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page