top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaddie Rondel

Wrapping Up...

30/05/2023-03/06/2023


My week started with me formatting my whole report into a publication-style document which combines both Salvage Collective and my personal branding. I wanted to show images of what I have created this term alongside my report, so included things like my photos from the shoot and the thrift fair, as well as illustrations I made for the Instagram posts and other branding content. I also created a mock-up of what my report would look like as an actual print publication!


From Wednesday to Friday the Salvage Collective team has been on campus planning and creating things ready for Graduate Fashion Week! On Wednesday we planned out the layout of our space using a measuring tape and masking tape on the floor, as well as a paper floor plan using scaled-down measurements, so that we can set-up or area easily when we get there. We also planned what posters and marketing content we were going to create for GFW, including heat press and embroidery information posters, an 'Our Story' poster and embroidery tutorial sheets.




















After creating our designs, we showed them to Ed who edited them and then they were finalised and ready to go! We had divided the branding assets up so each person had things to make, working together as a team to get everything done in time.

Working on campus together as a team feels more effective than working separately at home, as it gives you the chance to bounce off one-another and receive immediate feedback form multiple sources: other team members, tutors, whoever else is in the studio etc. We created our posters mainly on InDesign, using illustrated assets from Procreate.

The posters and flyers will be used at GFW to draw people to our area, while informing them about the story behind Salvage Collective, what we do and what we're planning to do during GFW (embroidery workshops and heat printing).





On Friday we also experimented with the heat press - cutting some example shapes out of vinyl and pressing it to the garment using heat which transfers the design permanently onto the garment.


Vinyl heat-pressing is something we'll be offering throughout the day at GFW, whereas the embroidery is a workshop-style event. We decided to do heat-pressing as it is a quick and easy way to upcycle a piece of clothing. We believe it'll be popular due to the customisation of this technique, as you can transfer whatever design you want (as long as you're able to cut it out!).


Over the weekend, my main focus is to finish my website (LO3) ready for hand-in on monday! I'll be focusing on updating all of my blogs, portfolio and "about me" section on my website.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page