top of page
  • Writer's pictureMaddie Rondel

Personal Branding Focus-Week!

22-28/05/2023


In the first half of the week, my main goal was to complete as much of my portfolio as I could, as I want to try and complete my LO1 Project Proposal this week, so that I can focus on my LO2 reflection essay and website. In the end I managed to complete all 7 of my pages! I have included uni projects such as my t-shirt campaign, upcycling publication, fashion film and size? x NB live brief as well as personal work like some photography from A-Levels and my personal branding.


I believe that this mix of projects allows me to display a wide variety of work and skills that I have developed and improved over the last few years. The main type of work featured throughout my portfolio is my graphic design and illustration elements, due to these being my favourite areas to work in. Each page is suited to the project it’s showing, so each page has quite a different aesthetic, however I think this works better than putting old work with my current branding.



During our weekly Salvage Collective teams call, we all decided that we were going to take this week to work on our own projects, and after Ed’s hand-in next Tuesday we will all go back to working on Salvage Collective and preparing things such as branding and workshop equipment for Graduate Fashion Week, as we have a space there to hold some workshops each day. After the call I decided that I wanted to put all of my career research in my Project Proposal document, and make sure that those pages were completely done and out of the way. I then moved onto creating a new CV to fit with my branding.


After looking at my old CV and some example CVs, I added some more uni projects into the ‘experience’ section rather than just having work experience in there. I also changed the presentation and visual of my CV. After this, I went on to write my example cover letter for Salvage Collective, as I didn’t have to write one of these, so I made one that I would’ve sent if it was needed. I also made this to fit in with the style of my branding. Now that most of the pages of my Project Proposal are filled in – except for the critical path plan which I’m working on as I go – I am very Happy. With how it all looks together, all of the pages are cohesive, and it makes me excited to have the first Finished!




I had a tutorial on Wednesday, just to show my portfolio and CV/cover letter to make sure there weren’t any big changes that needed to be made, and it all went well with nothing needing to be changed! I worked a little bit on my website, adding my CV and new logo and changing some of the colours to my branding palette. I also updated my critical path plan for this week and some of next week. I created another illustration to use within my branding, specifically for my portfolio as I feel that my personal branding section needs building a bit more, which I plan to do mainly with illustrations.


Later in the week, I finalised my portfolio pages after the positive feedback from my tutorial and had LO1 completed! I then started to work on LO2 by planning out the structure of my report and the areas that I wanted to research for the industry section of my report. I began by looking at some books in the graphic design section of the library, specifically to do with social media or branding as these were a few of the areas that I wanted to write about in my report.


I dedicated Friday to research for my report, where I focused on areas of the industry such as graphic design, social media, branding UX design and AI. I decided to research into these areas as they are possible avenues that I want to explore as career options after university, as well as them being relevant to my job roles during my internship with Salvage Collective.


Over the weekend, I wrote my report. It was slow at the beginning with referencing research and writing about the industry, however when I began to write about my job roles and personal experience it became a lot easier to write about. My goal was to write the entire report over the weekend and edit and refine with the bibliography by Monday, which I achieved! I aim on having the publication-style document finished within the first half of next week so that I can focus on LO3 and planning the Salvage Collective GFW space with the team.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page